Assist
Comparison

HelpDental Assist vs Dentascribe

Prices and features checked 17 August 2026

Dentascribe is a UK dental scribe with a genuinely free tier. Not a trial that expires, a free plan with unlimited appointments, over 40 templates and no card, and paid tiers that add audio notes and letters.

Assist is £99 a month, or £79 a month paid annually, and there is no free tier. The two products are aimed at different things and the table below is the quickest way to see which one you are after.

What Assist puts the money into is what happens after the draft. Ambient capture with no cap on notes and visible source text for the clinician to review before copying.

01The comparison

Assist and Dentascribe side by side.

Price
Assist:£99 per dentist per month. £79 a month if you pay for the year.
Dentascribe:Free tier at £0. Pro is £21 a month or £252 a year. Ultra is £29 a month or £348 a year.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Free tier
Assist:None. There is a free trial, not a free plan.
Dentascribe:Unlimited appointments, over 40 templates and clickable notes, with no card. Their help pages state this is not a free trial.
Their pricing page states the free plan reverts after 180 days of inactivity.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Free trial
Assist:28 days free. No card.
Dentascribe:No separate trial for the paid tiers. The free plan serves that purpose.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
How it captures the appointment
Assist:Ambient. It listens to the appointment and the words appear on screen as they are said.
Dentascribe:Three modes. Clickable template notes with no audio on the free tier, smart dictation, and ambient listening. The audio modes are on the paid tiers.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Goes into your practice software
Assist:Copy and paste into any system. There is no native integration.
Dentascribe:Copy and paste. They list SOE, R4 and Dentally as compatible on that basis.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Templates
Assist:Your own templates and protocols, written and edited by you.
Dentascribe:Over 40 prebuilt templates, customisable, and you can add your own. Shared team templates are on the Ultra tier.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Shows where each line came from
Assist:Shows whether text came from the appointment, a selected template or clinician-approved saved wording. The clinician reviews and edits the note before copying.
Dentascribe:Not described on their public pages.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Patient facing documents
Assist:Notes only. Assist does one job.
Dentascribe:Letters, with a limit on Pro and unlimited on Ultra.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Audio and record retention
Assist:Unsaved audio is removed after processing. Saved audio and notes stay until you delete them.
Dentascribe:Audio permanently deleted after transcription. Patient records automatically deleted from their servers after three months.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Where the data sits
Assist:UK and EU cloud services. The full processor list is in the data processing agreement.
Dentascribe:Not stated on their public pages. The site describes the product as made in Yorkshire, which is a statement about the company rather than about hosting.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
Who builds it
Assist:Built in the UK by a practising dentist.
Dentascribe:Described on their site as made in Yorkshire, UK, and founded by a dentist.
Source: Dentascribe's own page
AssistDentascribe
Price£99 per dentist per month. £79 a month if you pay for the year.Free tier at £0. Pro is £21 a month or £252 a year. Ultra is £29 a month or £348 a year.
Free tierNone. There is a free trial, not a free plan.Unlimited appointments, over 40 templates and clickable notes, with no card. Their help pages state this is not a free trial.
Their pricing page states the free plan reverts after 180 days of inactivity.
Free trial28 days free. No card.No separate trial for the paid tiers. The free plan serves that purpose.
How it captures the appointmentAmbient. It listens to the appointment and the words appear on screen as they are said.Three modes. Clickable template notes with no audio on the free tier, smart dictation, and ambient listening. The audio modes are on the paid tiers.
Goes into your practice softwareCopy and paste into any system. There is no native integration.Copy and paste. They list SOE, R4 and Dentally as compatible on that basis.
TemplatesYour own templates and protocols, written and edited by you.Over 40 prebuilt templates, customisable, and you can add your own. Shared team templates are on the Ultra tier.
Shows where each line came fromShows whether text came from the appointment, a selected template or clinician-approved saved wording. The clinician reviews and edits the note before copying.Not described on their public pages.
Patient facing documentsNotes only. Assist does one job.Letters, with a limit on Pro and unlimited on Ultra.
Audio and record retentionUnsaved audio is removed after processing. Saved audio and notes stay until you delete them.Audio permanently deleted after transcription. Patient records automatically deleted from their servers after three months.
Where the data sitsUK and EU cloud services. The full processor list is in the data processing agreement.Not stated on their public pages. The site describes the product as made in Yorkshire, which is a statement about the company rather than about hosting.
Who builds itBuilt in the UK by a practising dentist.Described on their site as made in Yorkshire, UK, and founded by a dentist.
02Which to pick

When Dentascribe is the better pick

  • You want to work from clickable templates rather than have a microphone in the room.
  • You want a free tier you can sit on indefinitely rather than a trial that ends. Theirs is £0 with unlimited appointments and no card.
  • You want letters included without moving to a higher tier.

When Assist is the better pick

  • You want the note to show its source before copying.
  • You want to keep your notes where you put them. Dentascribe state that patient records are deleted from their servers after three months, which is a deliberate privacy choice, but it means the record has to live in your practice software.
28 days free. No card required.
03Questions

Questions about Dentascribe.

Is Dentascribe really free?
The free tier is real, and it is template driven. Audio based notes and letters are on their paid tiers at £21 and £29 a month. Assist has no free tier. It is £99 a month, or £79 a month paid annually, and it is ambient on the one plan with no cap on the number of notes.
What does Assist do that Dentascribe does not?
Assist listens to the appointment rather than asking you to click through a template, with no cap on the number of notes. It shows the source of note text for the clinician to review before copying.
Do both work with my practice software?
Both are copy and paste, so both work with anything. Neither writes into your practice management system.
What happens to the notes?
Dentascribe state that patient records are deleted from their servers after three months and audio is deleted after transcription. Assist removes unsaved audio after processing, keeps saved audio with the note until you delete it, and keeps notes until you delete them.